Holes!

Designing adventures have gotten me thinking about… adventures!

1) Some adventures seem to take everything into account.

2) Some adventures seem to describe everything in detail.

I have no intention of writing adventures that take a month for the GM to read through. This means that you’ll find certain holes in a Mor Aldenn adventure. These holes are all deliberate. I want the GM to participate in the creation of the adventure, not just someone who runs everything as written. I guess thats the adventures I like, and sadly, I haven’t come across a lot of these.

Also, reading through a few old adventures, I found descriptions up to a page long. We are talking about text that the GM should read aloud. I’m not the type of GM who likes to read descriptions from books, especially whole conversations. I mean, if you read them aloud, then how can the players actually participate in them? They can’t, but they should.

I will keep descriptions in the adventures, of course, but I will try to keep them short and precise. They will mostly be for the GM, for inspiration, but its important to note that he shouldn’t be bound by them.

How do you like your adventures?

Explore posts in the same categories: Adventure, Thoughts

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

